Richard Whalley piano recital, 3 April 2019 – includes performance of Kinderszenen and new student works

Pianist and composer Richard Whalley offers a concert of contemporary piano music exploring the full range of colours and resonances of the piano, contrasting different characters of movement with stasis.

The programme includes three new works by postgraduate composers of the University of Manchester specially written for this concert alongside one of his own works, and contrasting works by Judith Weir and Helmut Lachenmann.

Helmut Lachenmann: Ein Kinderspiel
*Delroy Costello: Quietly I hear thee, for lightly doth thy slumber, and so I must forsake thee
Judith Weir: The art of touching the keyboard

Richard Whalley: Kinderszenen
*Maria Palapanidou: The in-between
*Yuhao Wu: Deserts

* = world premiere

This concert takes place at International Anthony Burgess Foundation, Manchester at 7.30pm on 3 April 2019